About Us

The Australian Remembrance Foundation is a registered charity established to encourage and
promote Anzac and Remembrance commemorations.  Initially, the Foundation’s work is
focusing particularly on Anzac Day events in the afternoon to complement existing dawn services.

Our Mission

The Australian Remembrance Foundation seeks to honour Australia’s fallen, returned and current servicemen & women
especially through producing events on Anzac Day and other days of national remembrance.

The Foundation was established following the successful hosting of the 2021 Anzac Day Sunset Ceremony
held at the Sydney Town Hall made possible with the support of the City of Sydney.

The Foundation is currently focusing particularly on Anzac Day events in the afternoon to complement existing Dawn services.

Our Board

The Board of The Australian Remembrance Foundation is made up of representatives from across the community including
from the veterans, arts, business and education sectors.

The Patron of the Australian Remembrance Foundation is General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK, AC, CVO MC (Retd)
and the Chair is Dr Michael Easson AM.

Dr Michael Easson AM CHAIR

Dr Michael Easson is the Chairman and Founder of EG, the current Chairman of ASFA and honorary President of the Australia Defence Association.

Michael’s past directorships include the City Renewal Authority (Canberra), ING RE, State Super, NRMA Insurance, Icon Water Corporation and ActewAGL, the State Rail Authority of NSW, Sydney Metro Transport and ANZ (2000 Olympic) Stadium. Michael was a founding director of both Macquarie Infrastructure Group and Macquarie Goodman and was an Adjunct Professor at the Australian Graduate School of Management’s Centre for Corporate Change.

Michael was previously the Vice President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions and Secretary of the NSW Labor Council (now called Unions NSW). Michael holds a PhD in History from the Australian Defence Force Academy (UNSW).


Anthony has produced and directed over 100 concerts and 20 theatrical productions across Australia as well as concert tours to New Zealand and Europe.  Anthony has specialised in developing charity-arts partnerships and has developed targeted campaigns for Legacy, the RSL Foundation, Yalari Indigenous Education, the QLD Flood Appeal, Victorian Bushfire Appeal and the Christchurch Earthquake Appeal.

Brigadier Philip Winter CEO, RSL AUSTRALIA

Brigadier Winter AM CSC ADC served in the Australian Regular Army for 33 years from 1978 to 2011, mainly serving in Artillery and Intelligence appointments. More recently, he has led a range of projects in the Army Reserve, including the Centenary of Anzac, Invictus Games and Defence’s contribution to the 2019 Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo in Sydney. Brigadier Winter is currently the Director General of the Australian Defence Force Sports Cell.


Graham served for 11 years as a Naval Officer with the Royal Australian Navy including a highlight posting as ADC to the Governor of Tasmania. From 1997-2004, Graham served as the CEO of Legacy Sydney, then as CEO of the Southern Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust and as Fundraising Director at Legacy Sydney before being appointed as Legacy’s national CEO.


Adam is the co-founder and CEO and EG and previously worked in investment banking where he advised on a number of high-profile transactions for Macquarie Bank.  Two of Adam’s larger projects were the London to Birmingham private toll road and the demerger and refinancing of a major Australian industrial company’s $2.3 billion debt portfolio.

Elizabeth Stone

A Rhodes Scholar, Elizabeth’s first career was in law before becoming a teacher and working in leading schools in Australia and the UK. Since returning to Australia in 2014, she has been Principal of Queenwood School and sits on a variety of Boards and advisory bodies.

Kieran Walton

Kieran has worked extensively across the arts, government and not for profit sectors including for the Sydney Youth Orchestra, Australian Chamber Orchestra, as Researcher for former Prime Minister John Howard and as a Speechwriter for the then Prime Minister Tony Abbott.